//
you're reading...
in my words

Eminem in my ears

All I can think of as I head east in this cab is Eminem… Really. His lyrics. His strength in perseverance… Poverty and addiction as much a death sentence as what I’m facing… He had to see himself as greater than the world expected… Didn’t it start with his faith? His belief – in himself. in possibility. Mind over all else. Didn’t he exemplify living in the moment? Or at least speak the words. Maybe it starts there. Knees weak, palms are sweaty…
But still trusting my gut. Whatever Dr. Z has to say today, I’m ready… And music is good medicine.

“Look… If you had one shot, or one opportunity to seize everything you ever wanted in one moment, would you capture it or just let it slip? Yo

You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go

So the soap opera is told and unfolds … but the beat goes on

You can do anything you set your mind to, man”
Lose Yourself by Eminem

About iamnowthejourney

i am a mom. an instructor at soulcycle. a poster girl for cancer. this is what 42 looks like. this is what cancer looks like. and i've never been better.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Eminem in my ears

  1. Thinking about you this morning and sending lots of positive vibes and love your way!! Good luck and see you this afternoon. brian

    Posted by Brian King | November 3, 2011, 9:16 am
    • Melanie,
      Thank you for creating this blog. I can feel your strength and determination in your words. I first found out about you minutes ago when I opened my More Magazine. The article that I read made me want to find your blog and here I am. 🙂 My name is Penny. I am a year older than you. I went back to school and graduated with my Masters in Education last December. I am an English Teacher without a classroom and just recently went through cancer testing. I just found out that the tests are negative for Breast Cancer. (A few years ago I had pre-cancer cells removed from my cervix, so I feel like I am on a precipice and when I am just about to fall things right themselves. The emotional rollercoaster is horrible thought.)I am currently driving around the round-a-bout in my career. I have begun to look at other careers (blogging, free lance writing, etc.) and have felt stuck. Your story has given me some much needed encouragement that I will make it off this round-a-bout and onto my life. Thank you. Happy holidays.
      Penny

      Posted by Penny | November 26, 2011, 6:26 am
  2. yooo,

    you are amazing at taking things that nobody would think about and speaking about them in a new way. I love you<3

    Posted by Emma Griffith | November 26, 2011, 11:33 pm
  3. Hoping you had much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving holiday…

    Posted by Lisa Lai | November 29, 2011, 9:55 am
  4. Hey- It’s Nicole. Speaking of music as medicine. Can’t find your email to ask you for a mix from my injured friend. nbouch3@hotmail.com

    Posted by Nicole Bouchard | December 5, 2011, 3:50 pm

Leave a Reply

